Theories in Review

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

Reflecting on the topics we have explored throughout the duration of this course, the different learning theories, learners, learning styles and technology. I have gained an immense of how learning flows along a continuum of cognition, complexity, environment, quality of instructions as well as technology. Also, that the effectiveness of instructions and the speed at which a learner progress from simple to complex materials are dependent on the specific learner’s state or surroundings.

As it relates to the way in which I learn, my views have not changed. I am a Kinesthetic learner, that is I learn through physically doing. Also, I identify as an unconventional learner, with the advancement of technology I learn from the technologies around me at my own pace. However, I now associate my learning with a combination of theories versus a single theory as previously identified to be the constructivist theory. Now my learning is attributed to the constructivist and connectivist theories of learning, while supported by the Howard Gardeners theory of multiple intelligences being a Kinesthetic learning.

What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

Siemens and Downes posit in on the theory of the digital ages shed light on my learning preferences. I like to be in control of my own learning, what I learning, how I learning and when I want to learn. My learning occurs through networking and through a social connect. The starting point of connectivism is the individual(me). My personal knowledge is comprised of my network of peers and co-workers, which feeds into organizations and institutions, which in turn feed back into my network, and then continue to my individual learning. This cycle of knowledge development (personal to network to an organization) allows me to remain current in my field through the connections I have formed.

What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

Technology has played pivotal role in my learning. Being in a traditional classroom setting or learning environment has impacted my learning outcomes within those settings. Also, with the lack of resources and technology, I was not able to explore and learn the way that I am comfortable.

Now that I have access to the technology and resources, my learning and development have now been taken to an unprecedented level. With these technologies, I can participate in this and other classes online to advance my quality and level of education.

References

Conlan, J., Grabowski, S., & Smith, K. (2003). Adult Learning. Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching and technology .

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching and technology


Leave a comment